Pune LocalSports

A Sneak Peak Of The Auction Process: The  Much Awaited Maharashtra Premier League 2023

Pune, June 2, 2023: The Maharashtra Premier League (MPL) 2023, brought to life under the auspices of the Maharashtra Cricket Association and the Board of Cricket Control in India, heralds a new era for cricket in Maharashtra. A potent amalgamation of entertainment, sportsmanship, and regional pride, the MPL 2023 is set to redefine the landscape of cricket within the state. Unfolding in the iconic MCA International Stadium, Gahunje in Pune, this premier T-20 cricket tournament will showcase an exhilarating display of skill, strategy, and sheer passion for the game, with international cricketers from Maharashtra like Kedar Jadhav, Rutuaj Gaikwad and Rahul Tripathi and upcoming local talent taking centre stage.

The MPL 2023 promises to be a cricketing spectacle that transcends boundaries and captivates audiences across the nation. Buckle up, cricket fans – the Maharashtra Premier League 2023 is here to enthral, enchant, and elevate the spirit of cricket in Maharashtra.

As we inch closer to the highly anticipated Maharashtra Premier League (MPL) 2023, the cricketing world is abuzz with speculation and curiosity about its various facets. One such critical element that merits a deep dive is the franchise/team ownership eligibility in the MPL 2023.

The Maharashtra Cricket Association (MCA), under the purview of the Board of Cricket Control in India (BCCI), has meticulously defined the eligibility criteria for prospective team owners. The principal condition is straightforward yet crucial – the franchise or team owner must have their Registered Office or Place of Business within the jurisdiction of the Maharashtra Cricket Association. This requirement is a strategic move by MCA and BCCI that promotes local investment and ensures that the team owners have a vested interest in the region’s cricketing development. It also ensures a closer connection between the teams and their fans, bolstering regional pride and local support, which is a driving force for any successful sporting franchise.

Furthermore, it implicitly encourages local businesses to invest in cricket, resulting in a mutually beneficial relationship that not only boosts the local economy but also provides the much-needed financial support to the sport. By stimulating local economies, the ripple effect can reach even grassroots cricket, providing a steady stream of talent for the teams and ultimately leading to a richer cricketing ecosystem in the state.

It is essential to remember that owning a cricket team is not merely a transactional process. It is a commitment to the sport, the players, and, most importantly, the fans. Prospective team owners must be willing to comply with the Team Management Standards set forth by the MCA. These standards cover several areas, such as player contracts, payment timelines, and the quality of accommodations provided to players.

MPL 2023 start date is June 15, 2023.  The league will have a total of 6 teams representing the cities of Pune, Kolhapur, Nashik, Jalgaon, Sambhajinagar and Solapur.  Prospective team owners will participate in an Open Auction process to purchase teams on the basis of the above city names. Each team will play against each other in a round-robin league stage consisting of five matches per team. The top four teams from the league stage will enter the play-off phase, which then will lead to the finals, on similar lines as the IPL.  MCA will select cricketers from Maharashtra to be made available for the MPL 2023 auction.

 A player draft/auction will be conducted on June 6, 2023 for the team owners to acquire cricketers for their respective teams. The  MCA will provide a pool of talented players from Maharashtra for the MPL 2023 auction.  The MPL 2023 will be broadcasted live on National Television channel (DD Sports) and further streamed live. The prize money for the MPL 202 shall be Rs. 50 lakh for Winners and Rs. 25 lakh for Runners-up.

What's your reaction?

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *