Pune LocalSports

Diego Juniors ‘A’ to Face Gunners F.A in Aspire Cup 2023 Final

Pune: The highly anticipated final of the Super-First Division in the inaugural Aspire Cup 2023 football tournament will see Diego Juniors ‘A’ take on Gunners F.A at the Dr. Hedgewar ground in Pimpri on Sunday.

In another exciting match on the same day, Durga S.A will compete against City F.C Pune for the Second-Third Division title.

In the senior section, Diego Juniors ‘A’ triumphed over a resilient Indrayani S.C with a close score of 1-0. The crucial goal was scored by Shubham Mahapadi in the 24th minute, as he skillfully evaded the offside trap and found the back of the net.

Gunners F.C secured their place in the final by defeating Thundercatz 2-1. Jayant Nimbalkar’s header in the 60th minute proved decisive, sealing their opponents’ fate. Earlier in the day, Thundercatz took the lead through Aariv Jodhwani in the 17th minute, but Gautam Kadam’s own-goal in the 28th minute allowed Gunners to equalize.

The action-packed day began with the junior division matches. Durga S.A secured a late victory over Sangam Young Boys ‘B’ with Nelson Paste scoring the decisive goal in the 56th minute, ending the campaign of their opponents with a 1-0 scoreline.

Joining Durga S.A in the final was City F.C Pune, who faced a spirited challenge from NDA Youth Sports Academy but emerged victorious with a 2-1 scoreline. Satvik Naik gave City F.C Pune the lead with a goal in the 6th minute, before Ritesh Thakur equalized for NDA Youth in the 22nd minute. However, Pritesh Babar’s goal in the 32nd minute secured City F.C Pune’s spot in the final.

Super-First Division: SF-1: Diego Juniors ‘A’: 1 (Shubham Mahapadi 24th) defeated Indrayani S.C: 0
SF-2: Gunners F.C: 2 (Gautam Kadam 28th – own goal; Jayant Nimbalkar 60th) defeated Thundercatz: 1 (Aariv Jodhwani 17th)
Second-Third Division: SF-1: Durga S.A: 1 (Nelson Paste 56th) defeated Sangam Young Boys ‘B’: 0
SF-2: City FC Pune: 2 (Satvik Naik 6th, Pritish Babar 32nd) defeated NDA Youth Sports Club: 1 (Ritesh Thakur 22nd)

What's your reaction?

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *