Pune LocalSports

Pune Football Tournament: Semifinal match among City FC Pune, NDA Youth Sports Club, Durga SA, and Sangam YB

The thrilling quarterfinal matches for the Aspire Cup 2023 (Second-Third Division) Football Tournament creates a bigger picture of upcoming semi-final & final matches as City FC Pune, NDA Youth Sports Club, Durga SA, and Sangam Young Boys ‘B’ secured their places in the semifinal round. The tournament, organized by Aspire India under the supervision of the Poona District Football Association (PDFA), at the Dr. Hedgewar ground in Pimpri.

In the first quarter final clash, Durga SA showcased their prowess by defeating Rahul FA with a score of 3-1. Neeraj Mane (11th minute) and Nelson Paste (12th minute) fired two quick goals, putting Rahul FA on the backfoot. Ganesh Patil (24th minute) managed to pull one back for Rahul FA, but Ronnie Rozario (36th minute) extended Durga SA’s lead to an unassailable 3-1, sealing their victory.

Later on two matches were decided through tie-breakers for quarterfinals. NDA Youth Sports Club staged a remarkable comeback, holding Ashoka XI to a 1-1 draw before securing a 4-3 victory in the tie-breaker. Ravi Kiran (12th minute) opened the scoring for Ashoka XI, but Sudhir Kumar (19th minute) swiftly equalized for NDA YSC. In the ensuing tie-breaker, NDA YSC’s Ritesh Thakur, Ajesh CA, Sandeep Singh, and Ashish Kohli found the back of the net, while Sreerag VR, Prasad Bhandari, and Shrikant Mahadik managed to convert their attempts for Ashoka XI.

The third quarter final clash between City FC Pune and Sangvi FC ‘B’ resulted in a goalless stalemate at full time. However, City FC Pune prevailed in the thrilling tie-breaker, securing a 4-3 victory. Lalit Patil, Pritesh Babar, Satvik Nayak, and Vicky Singh successfully converted their penalties for City FC Pune, while Ritwik M, Fahed Khan, and Sandan Nanekar scored for Sangvi FC ‘B’.

In the last quarterfinal match, Sangam Young Boys ‘B’ clinched the remaining semifinal spot by defeating Puneri Warriors 1-0. Vipul Gophane (13th minute) netted the decisive goal, ensuring Sangam Young Boys ‘B’ progressed in the tournament.

The semifinal ground of the Pune Football Tournament signifies to bring thrilling football actions and an intense battle as City FC Pune, NDA Youth Sports Club, Durga SA, and Sangam Young Boys ‘B’ are prepared for the Aspire Cup 2023 (Second-Third Division) Football Tournament.

Quarterfinal Results (II-III Division):

QF1: Durga Sports Academy – 3 (Neeraj Mane 11th, Nelson Paste 12th, Ronnie Rozario 36th) defeated Rahul Football Academy – 1 (Ganesh Patil 24th)

QF2: NDA Youth Sports Club – 1 (4) (Sudhir Kumar 19th; Ritesh Thakur, Ajesh CA, Sandeep Singh, Ashish Kohli) defeated Ashoka XI – 1 (3) (Ravi Kiran 12th; Sreerag VR, Prasad Bhandari, Shrikant Mahadik)

QF3: City FC Pune – 0 (4) (Lalit Patil, Pritesh Babar, Satvik Nayak, Vicky Singh) defeated Sangvi Football Club ‘B’ – 0 (3) (Ritwik M, Fahed Khan, Sandhan Nanekar)

QF4: Sangam Young Boys ‘B’ – 1 (Vipul Gophane 13th) defeated Puneri Warriors – 0

What's your reaction?

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *